ℹ️
Welcome to the archive of the old FlatPress support forum. Browse more than a decade of FlatPress wisdom! Login is disabled.

The current FlatPress support forum is available here: forum.flatpress.org
Max number of entries?
  • Feeling really comfortable with this script so I'm thinking of using it for yearly updates on the saynotogmos.org site starting in 2011. I've been doing it the old fashioned way for eight years and ready for a change! Here's what the current page looks like: http://www.saynotogmos.org/ud2010/updates2010.html By the end of the year, there will probably be about 150 substantial entries. Can Flatpress handle that size load or will it go into collapse? I'd be turning comments off and will do a separate installation for each of the coming years. This is assuming, of course, that we can find and fix the glitch that's generating "\" on apostrophes in the "Last 10 entries" data. ;)
  • I want to add that the site gets a fair amount of traffic - about 8,000 -10,000 unique visitors a month. What are the chances of that amount of traffic breaking something in the DB?
  • I'll be honest and say I don't know. Since the critical point is really the main index which is modified only when editing a post, I'd say it's theoretically low. If you happen to see that something is breaking often, I'd go for a solution backed by a real DBMS, which is designed for high concurrency :)
  • @golinux "... there will probably be about 150 substantial entries ..." One of my personal blogs have more than 280 entries, but not 10.000 unique visitors. If I made a full text search the results are displayed within seconds. So I think, Flatpress can handle many entries, but I don't know what happen by 10.000 unique visitors.