Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

This is the right place to report general bugs, make suggestions or ask for help.
Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:05 am

Hi, I tried to upgrade existing flatpress version from 1.0.3 to 1.1 how described

>Simply unzip the update package and transfer its contents to your server. Overwrite existing files.

I created a new directory (https://www.guerrenelmondo.it/mio/), copied entire website and transferred and overwritten files of 1.1 version:

At the end of transferred files there is this error:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '[' in /web/htdocs/www.guerrenelmondo.it/home/mio/fp-inclu ... .draft.php on line 187

The old website works perfectly (https://www.guerrenelmondo.it/), while the new version on new directory not.
version PHP is Version 5.3.29

What I can do ?
Thanks

laborix
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:51 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by laborix » Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:28 pm

Hi,

your new Flatpress 1.1 is running on PHP 5.3?

The error is a typical PHP 7.4 error, because some Syntax like function xyz ( …element… ) [0] … are no more allowed. So, please, what is PHP Version on which your Flatpress 1.1 is running?

regards

Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:42 pm

On Flatpress 1.1 there is version 5.3.29 (is only a subdirectory https://www.guerrenelmondo.it/mio/) like on main website https://www.guerrenelmondo.it

Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:54 pm

Moreover https://www.guerrenelmondo.it works only with php version 5.3.29 and if I choice this php.ini

zip_cgi.fix_pathinfo Impostazioni avanzate per utenti esperti con: cgi.fix_pathinfo = 1 e Estensione Zip Abilitata

Others version of php and php.ini doesn't work.

laborix
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:51 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by laborix » Wed Apr 01, 2020 4:39 pm

I didn't test this solution, but please download the buggy core.draft.php, editing the file and upload it back.

Quick and dirty solution: Replace the lines 185 to 189

Code: Select all

if ($arr) {
  $firstElement = utils_array_kshift($arr);
  $id = array_keys($firstElement) [0];
  $subject = $firstElement [$id];
}
with the old lines of core.draft.php from Flatpress 1.0.3

Code: Select all

if ($arr)
  list($id, $subject)=each($arr);
If this will not work on your Web Space, you can try this one:

Code: Select all

if ($arr) {
  $id = key($arr);
  $subject = current($arr);
  next($arr);
}
I didn't have a test environment with PHP 5.3.x, but I know that Flatpress 1.1 is running on PHP 7.3.x.

Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:47 pm

Hi, I have good news, it works perfectly with both solutions:

if ($arr)
list($id, $subject)=each($arr);

and with

if ($arr) {
$id = key($arr);
$subject = current($arr);
next($arr);
}

Which one is better and I more useful ?

Thanks

Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:05 pm

There is another thing, in old version (1.03) I can see this article:

https://www.guerrenelmondo.it/index.php ... ghanistan/


With new version 1.1 I can't see this article:
https://www.guerrenelmondo.it/mio/index ... ghanistan/

the error is:

Non trovato

Siamo spiacenti, non possiamo trovare la pagina richiesta


The name of article is:
Mozambico: Gruppo terroristico ISIS rivendica responsabilità per gli attacchi in Mozambico e Afghanistan

Do you know the reason ?
thanks

laborix
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:51 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by laborix » Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:19 pm

This one is that one I tested with PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.2/7.3/7.4 and use for myself.

Code: Select all

if ($arr) {
  $id = key($arr);
  $subject = current($arr);
  next($arr);
}
… With new version 1.1 I can't see this article: ...
Please, take a look here
https://wiki.flatpress.org/en:doc:basic:upgrade
and do the step with "Rebuild the Index in Adminstration Panel - Maintain"

If you move/upgrade your blog, so the steps told in the section "Upgrade including full backup" is my prefered solution I used over years :D

Panther
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Panther » Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:49 pm

Hi, I've update my 2 websites with your informations, all is gone well.
I have understood what happened with that article, the name is:
Mozambico: Gruppo terroristico ISIS rivendica responsabilità per gli attacchi in Mozambico e Afghanistan

With the upgrade ha lost à (in italian languate) and has become responsabilit
I have re-editated the name of article, all is gone well.

I want to tell you about a problem of version 1.0.3.....sometimes happens that numer of the articles read change and restart to 0, like 100 people have never visited the page. Now I can see with this new version if it happens again.

Thanks for all

User avatar
Arvid
FlatPress Coder
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem upgrade from 1.0.3 to 1.1

Post by Arvid » Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:00 pm

Hi,

thanks for reporting this bug. I commited the fix with 622a0d8, it will be part of FlatPress 1.2.

Glad it works now (thanks for your help, laborix!), but you should at least consider changing to a current PHP version. 5.3 is waaay outdated and may be a potential security risk. And if you're unlucky, new versions of your software or their plugins may not support PHP 5 anymore, which makes updating stuff always tricky.

General advice (as laborix wrote): Before changing anything at your FlatPress instance, always do a backup of the whole FlatPress folder. Thus, if anything goes wrong, you can just delete the complete blog and copy it back from your backup.

Panther wrote: Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:49 pmI want to tell you about a problem of version 1.0.3.....sometimes happens that numer of the articles read change and restart to 0, like 100 people have never visited the page. Now I can see with this new version if it happens again.
Yes, please let us know if this still happens.

All the best,
Arvid

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests